Sarah Bruce
Public Relations / Member Engagement
Phone: 604-432-7987

ARA Virtual Show and Shine Awards

The second annual ARA Show and Shine was a big success, with an increase in both registrations and vehicle variety compared to last year. Held virtually in conjunction with the ARA’s annual general meeting, this year’s online event displayed about 100 wonderful entries ranging from restored and custom-made classics to luxury sports cars, tow trucks and motorcycles.

All proceeds raised from the voluntary registration donations went to the Automotive Retailers Foundation Inc. (ARFI), which provides scholarships and bursaries to assist those pursuing careers in the B.C. automotive industry. The ARA thanks all participants who made this event a big success and fun. A special shout out goes to the key sponsor, BASF, a major paint supplier to ARA members.

“The ARA did an exceptional job of adapting the show to a virtual venue, given the current COVID-19 restrictions,” said Trista Anger, regional business manager for BASF in western Canada.

BASF’s entire Western Canadian refinish team announced the Show and Shine winners during the ARA Annual General Meeting awards event. They also selected the overall car show winner, Russ Moen, and his hot rod motorhome with a 5.9L Cummins diesel engine and automatic transmission.

More than 260 people voted for their favourite ride in each category in online voting. Thank you to all participants and congratulations to all the winners!



1980 to Present – Lenny Marriott’s 1980 Corvette Coupe
Pre 1980 – Dick Comeau’s 1966 Chevelle SS396 Convertible
Sports and Muscle – Cheri Cooper’s 1967 Chevrolet Camaro RS/SS Convertible
Hot and Street Rods – Harlan Coakwell’s 1930 Ford, model A
Foreign and Import – Will Brinkworth’s 1973 Datsun, model 240z
Towing and Recovery – Jonathan Soroka’s 2003 Chevrolet C7500 Crew Cab with Right Approach Deck Motorcycle – Harlan Coakwell’s 202 Indian Scout, 100th anniversary


1980 to Present – Robert Schultz’s 1981 Toyota Land Cruiser BJ42
Pre 1980 – Harlan Coakwell’s 1959 Chevrolet Apache
Sports and Muscle – Carl Jamieson’s 1957 Chevrolet Blown Gasser
Hot and Street Rods – Shane and Randy MacDonalds’ 1957 Chevrolet Bel Air 2-door Hardtop
Foreign and Import – Mike Kelly’s 1954 Jaguar, model XK 120 FHC SE
Towing and Recovery – Fabiana Ireland’s 1989 International Eagle with 20-ton NRC
Motorcycle – Earl Karam’s 1978 Triumph, model TR7

And, the “Alyn’s Choice” award, named after long-time ARA supporter and car enthusiast Alyn Edwards, from Peak Communications, went to Rob Petty’s 1932 Ford Tudor.